Cook Islands Tourism Corporation logo

Cook Islands Tourism Corporation

  • Type: Tourism Authorities

About The Destination

Introduction – The Cook Islands

The Cook Islands consists of 15 islands scattered across a vast swathe of the Pacific between Fiji and Tahiti.

It is a vacation destination of rare beauty, an idyllic climate, warm welcoming people.

Rarotonga is the capital and main commercial and government centre, and the location of the international airport.

Air Services

  • Air New Zealand operates an average of 10 flights a week from Auckland to Rarotonga.
  • Virgin Australia operates 4 flights a week during the winter schedules and 3 per week during the summer schedules from Auckland to Rarotonga, and 1 seasonal flight from Christchurch to Auckland (June through October).
  • Jetstar operates three flights a week from Auckland to Rarotonga.

Sydney-Rarotonga and Los Angeles Rarotonga are underwritten by the Cook Islands government.

The domestic airline is Air Rarotonga, serving 9 of the nation’s 15 islands.

Future Air Service Challenge

Consumer demand for travel from North America is expected to exceed supply by year end 2018.

This introduces a new significant future challenge of achieving increased frequency, or finding alternatives for new additional new routes into Rarotonga.